Pages

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

We are back in the studio. Yesterday we started two new paintings, bearing in mind our neighbouring magical scenery, quietly buzzing, extending away from our skin, and yet so integrally part of us.

Today we will be continuing these works, painting 'live' in Kittilä, during the day of celebrations for the 150 years of the region. These paintings are commissioned by Kittilä Municipality with the occasion of the region's anniversary.  




Monday, March 19, 2018

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Our exhibition at Kemi Art Museum opens this week.



Saturday, March 10, 2018

'Dissolving' in front of our aitta-studio.



Thursday, March 8, 2018

Workshop

Today we offered a drawing workshop to a group of people from Helsinki, who came to visit our studio as part of a HaliPuu program.


The workshop offered participants the opportunity to open up to that mysterious place, which Raisa and I hope to make our paintings from. In a sense, the activity was designed to encourage creativity and drawing, not towards but from, a certain place.


Monday, February 26, 2018

Saturday, February 17, 2018

"Kauheat Syntymäpäivät" oil on linen, 50 x 60 cm.
For our upcoming exhibition "Dialogues on Trees and Humans" at Kemin taidemuseo next month.

Sunday, February 11, 2018

Working in the studio this evening.
Photo by Josequejose.

Saturday, February 3, 2018

The process of both being engaged in the creative becoming of the works, making decisions, exchanging observations, sharing inspiration, continues being a foundational aspect of our art practice.



Thursday, January 25, 2018

'Beyond' 
220 x 155 cm, oil on linen
resting outside our Aitta-studio in Sirkka.


Tuesday, November 28, 2017

Here we are painting each other. Well, a close up of our facial expressions, while sitting in meditation. The idea is one of us making a painting while the other one just lets go. Then we swap and one lets go while the other one makes a painting. Big fun. (Play both videos at the same time to get a better picture!)

These series of paintings belong to one of several lines of work we are developing at the moment for "Dialogues on Trees and Humans", a series of works in collaboration to be presented at Kemi Art Museum, Finland and Espacio Marzana, Bilbao, Spain, during 2018.









Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Saturday, October 28, 2017

Stuck with the trees

There you go, painting trees again.
Below a work in progress from our current collaboration.



Saturday, October 21, 2017


Hi, Misha here. I've hijacked our joint blog to share with all of you the -to my eyes- magnificent work Raisa is doing with ink and paper nowadays. 
You can check it out on her Instagram page. She is on fire. 
Cheers




Monday, October 16, 2017

Taidetestaajat

This past week we have been part of Taidetestaajat, a program organised by the Finnish Cultural Foundation, which brings young people from all over Finland to different cultural destinations in order to test and try art. We were invited by Särestöniemi Museum to share our experiences as an artist couple and offer a drawing workshop for 8-graders of different schools in Lapland.








Sunday, October 8, 2017

The Dance

Starting a new painting for our upcoming exhibition at Kemi Art Museum.


Sunday, August 6, 2017

Currently one of us is attending a 3 months retreat at Bodhinyana Monastery, near Perth, Australia. We will be back with more news on our joint artistic enterprise in October!

Thursday, June 29, 2017